H A W A I I 5 – 0

Iridescent bursts of turquoise line miles of coastline, as tiny golden grains gently glide through the palm tree skyline. The salty sea breeze drifts softly through chaotic streets filled with smiling yet unfamiliar faces, creating oblivion to the harsh burn of the smouldering sun on your skin.

Hawaii is a magical place, harnessing beauty around every corner. Ever since I have returned home from my 12 day vacation to Oahu, I have felt so nostalgic and reminiscent of all the incredible memories made. This holiday not only allowed me to spend time with my family, but it afforded me peace of mind, as all my cares drifted far from my mind and allowed me to enjoy some r e l a x a t i o n!

I was so fortunate to be able to see so much of Oahu in such a small amount of time. I could have easily spent another week there, as 12 days was still not enough to do everything we wanted to. There were three moments that stood out most to me:

1. North Shore: Oahu’s North Shore is captivating and comforting with such diverse coastal locations. We visited Waimea Bay, Shark’s Cove, Electric Beach, Turtle Bay and Pipeline of course! Waimea & Turtle Bay are perfect to escape the chaos of Waikiki and relax, whereas Shark’s Cove & Electric Beach are incredible snorkelling destinations. If you are looking for some lunch, make sure you find Macky’s shrimp truck for the best garlic prawns you will ever devour, and head to the Dole Plantation for a pineapple ice cream whip for dessert.

2. Helicopter ride over Oahu: An absolute must! We took the tour with Blue Hawaiian Helicopters and it was worth every cent! A helicopter ride affords you the opportunity to see parts of the island you wouldn’t normally, with an incredible view around every turn.

3. Snorkelling with the turtles: Turtles are such majestic creatures – so placid and gentle the way they effortlessly glide through the ocean. We snorkelled with them twice, once out the back of Waikiki Beach and again at Electric Beach, where the water visibility was crystal clear. They did not stir when we swam down beside them, instead they seemed to enjoy our company.

The shopping in Hawaii is I N S A N E! If I could spend the rest of my days at Ala Moana Shopping Centre with an endless supply of money, I would be a very happy girl! Not only is everything cheaper, there is so much more variety! Of course we had to make a pitstop at the Waikele Centre – the outlet shopping village housing brands such as Ralph Lauren, Kate Spade, Adidas, Michael Kors, and Converse to name a few. It is definitely worth a visit!

To say I enjoyed my time in Hawaii would be an understatement – I fell in love with such an incredible destination and I would return in a heartbeat! My final three tips of advice would be: always book for dinner, hire a car and explore the island, and make sure you take a GoPro with a selfie stick!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

IMG_5918 IMG_5931 IMG_5936 IMG_5956 IMG_5993 SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES IMG_6057 IMG_6070 IMG_6082 IMG_6085 IMG_6323 IMG_6131

All images taken by myself on my iPhone 5s, Samsung camera & GoPro.

 

This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to H A W A I I 5 – 0

  1. Pingback: H A W A I I 5 - 0

Leave a comment